Oh My Fucking Goggles

August 10, 2008

From left to right: Bone, Lethe (rocking the “mankini”), Gently, Cosmic, and Gabi.

I’m an awesome fisher. Evidenced by the fact that I won 3 of the 3 fishing contests I participated in today. Pretty hard to argue with THAT, eh?

Okay. The goggles.

To keep myself entertained, I’ve been building outfits/avatars based on SL’s more popular subgenres. Lately it has been all about the steampunk.

A couple of days ago I had bought a pair of goggles in Steamvault. I immediately regretted the purchase. Frustrated, I asked some people for shop recommendations. Someone suggested [OMFG] and, indeed, they had some pairs I really liked. But I had just dropped some cash on what turned out to be complete garbage and didn’t feel like buying anything else that day.

Enter Free Finds For Men, who posted that [OMFG] had opened a new sim, was giving away a kinda cool set of armor (the pics on FFFM don’t really do it justice, it’s actually really rad), had some crazy lucky chairs, and was giving away 275 L$ giftcards to people who joined their update group.

275 L$? I can buy me those goggles, I thought to myself. So I wandered over and grabbed the armor, subscribed to the update group, and got my giftcard. I located the goggles I wanted to buy but before I could read the instructions for the giftcard, ‘B’ popped up on the lucky chair. Sweet. I got a really cool scripted bow and arrow set. I stood up and started to wander back to the goggles when someone said, “It’s ‘B’ again, Bone.” What luck! I sat back down without waiting for the prize image to rez and what popped into my inventory?

The goggles!

How awesome is that? I’ll tell you! As awesome as my fishing skills and they are, as I mentioned before, pretty fucking awesome.

Leave a Reply

